Saved From The Crusher – ’73 VW Van

I cringe every time I see a Volkswagen van being parted out, even though I’m glad to find things I need. You’re recycling pieces of a vehicle that will never roll again. The Youtube post I originally had here was  a happy one documenting the rescue of a 1973 bus, unfortunately the video has been taken down.  In his written comments the author, Rob, mentioned some of the typical things that affect a VW that’s been sitting for a long time like leaky push rod tube seals and a failing mechanical fuel pump, but what made me smile is the bit about removing a rat’s nest from the engine bay.  That dark and warm cubbyhole is a welcome mat for rodents.  I had a similar experience with a van that had squirrels living in the air filter area, thankfully in my case nuts were readily available on nearby trees.  There were a lot of shells to remove, luckily no wires were chewed through.  Rob wasn’t so lucky but was able to repair the damage.  Here’s another video of a similar theme, a banged up old ’73 Westfalia that finds renewed purpose. Happy viewing!

Explore posts in the same categories: Barn Find, Rescue, Restoration, Video, Volkswagen camper, Volkswagen van, VW camper interiors

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Saved From The Crusher – ’73 VW Van”

  1. Sarah-Mae Says:

    I know the feeling, my hubby and I drove up to an auto parts dealer today to see what we could salvage for our (beautiful and healthy) Westy today. I almost cried seeing burnt Westy’s. THREE of them!


  2. Thanks Sarah-Mae, you raise a good point about fuel line safety. Time for a post on the subject.


Leave a Reply

